Out with the Old, in with the New

The end of 2012 is fast approaching and every year at this time, I find myself reminiscing on the year before.  Of course, I realize I’m not unique in that aspect.  Every blogger on the internet is probably writing a post today about the past year, as well as their hopes, goals, and resolutions for the year ahead.  I’m sorry to disappoint you, but I’m clearly no different.

This past year has been one of many rewards for years of sacrifice and hard work.  Cage Free Dad and I have been struggling for years to get to this point in our lives, living paycheck to paycheck, putting off buying things as simple as new socks in order to get to this point.  Finally, after four years of struggling to make it in the big civilian world, he has the job of his dreams, and we’ve purchased our first house.  I must say, for all of you still struggling and eating Ramen Noodles, it’s worth the wait! (Although…splurge on some groceries now and then, please!)

So, we’re now wrapping up 2012 and moving into 2013, and I’ve got some big hopes for this year! I won’t get into all of it, but I certainly hope that this year continues to reward us for all of that hard work.  Starting next month, we’ll begin working on our garden plot and setting aside a good home for some chickens.  As for me, personally, I can get a little more specific.

First, and most importantly, I will put my writing back on the front burner.  I have been so busy with my design business over the last few years that I lost track of what I really want to do in the long run.  I love designing and crocheting, but honestly, I don’t see myself still doing it in 10 or 20 years.  Writing, on the other hand, has always been something to fall back on.  This year, instead of it being my fall back, it will be my main focus.  In fact, something that has not been publicly known before now, is that I am writing a book.  There, I said it.  Now it’s out there for the whole world to see. Yes, let me be a dreamer and imagine the whole world reading this blog.  And all of you can hold me accountable.  By the end of this year, I want to have what can certainly be referred to as a book, rather than a few pages of notes and plenty of ideas.

My other “resolution,” if it must go by that name, is to focus on my health and fitness.  I spent 2011 focusing on weight loss with great results, but the stress and lifestyle of the last year kept me from focusing on it at all.  This year, I want to get back into a healthy lifestyle and focus on staying fit rather than the weight loss that I focused on before.  I have a new bike, and some pilates videos, so I’ll form a workout routine centered around these.  First off, though, I’ll find a doctor, since for the first time in years I have health insurance and the means to pay for a check up.  I’ve battled with asthma for years, so if I can get a new inhaler I’ll feel much more comfortable bike riding and running.

So, those are my goals and resolutions for 2013.  Needless to say, if I’m focused on writing and natural living again, you’ll be hearing from me more often here on the blog.  I’ll be sharing with all of you as our garden progresses, and I can’t wait to share pictures when we get our chickens!

Do you make new year’s resolutions? What are you resolving to do this year?  No matter what your goals, I hope we all have a wonderful year!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

