Clean-Eating Granola Recipe

I posted the other day about the importance of eliminating processed foods from our diets.  It’s only fair that I follow that up with a few recipes, right?  And since I finally got brave enough to make my own granola yesterday, I thought that would be a fun recipe to share with everyone here!

I have always loved granola, but when Pistache ended up allergic to peanuts, I was too scared to buy most store brands.  If they didn’t actually have peanuts/peanut butter in them, they were processed in facilities that used those ingredients.  It just wasn’t worth it.  I honestly never thought to try making my own until just recently, though, and then I could never find a recipe that I was confident enough with to buy the materials.  I guess for some reason, I thought making my own granola would be expensive.    I was wrong.

Cast of Characters

Cast of Characters

I roughly followed this recipe, but made a lot of changes to fit my tastes and food availability.  Plus, I was cooking with a four year old, so the measuring wasn’t what you could call exact.  So, here’s what I did:

-Approximately 3 cups of rolled oats
-1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
-3/4 cup chopped pecans
-local honey (didn’t measure)
-good sprinkle of cinnamon
-handfull of craisins (add while cooling)
-handfull of raisins (add while cooling)

To make the granola, I mixed the oats and pecans in one mixing bowl.  In another bowl, I added everything else and whisked it together really well.  Then I added the dry ingredients and had to mix it for quite awhile.  The author of the original recipe was right.  It really seemed like there wasn’t enough of the applesauce mixture at first, but it eventually evened out.

Once that part was done, I spread the whole concoction onto a wax-paper-lined baking sheet and baked at 325 for about 45 minutes.

Note: Set a timer you can’t ignore for 15 minute increments and stir your granola! The minute you forget about it, it’s burnt.

Oh. My. Yum.

Oh. My. Yum.

 

You’ll know it’s done when it’s a nice golden brown and crunchy.  Pull your pan out of the oven, and mix in your cranberries and raisins (or any other dried fruits).  While the granola is cooling, they’ll cook just a tad, but not enough to get hard (like mine did in the oven).

All you have to do now is try really, really hard not to gobble it all up while it’s still warm and a little gooey!  No, seriously.  I think I ate half a batch yesterday.

This granola was so cheap and easy to make, I’m surprised I never tried it before.  And best of all, I know exactly what went into it.  The ingredients list you see up there? That’s it! No preservatives, and no ingredients I can’t pronounce.  Now that’s what I call good food!

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Eating

Leave a Reply

