Goings On in the Cage Free Home

This past month in our house has been so hectic, and while I’ve had a lot on my mind, I’ve struggled to find the time to sit down and write it all out.  First off, Cage Free Dad left for a two-month training course which is 10 hours away.  Pistache and I miss him like crazy but we’re keeping ourselves busy until his return.

In fact, I have had some grand plans for his absence, with the hope of him returning home in late March in shock over how much I have accomplished on my own.  Hopefully, it can all get finished in time! However, I realized yesterday while trying to hang curtains all by myself that there are some serious physical limitations to being short! (Erm…not to mention my lack of knowledge in the tool department.) So…hopefully I can manage to accomplish all of my goals in the next 5 weeks.

So far this month I have managed to get most of the yard cleaned up before the rain hit and since then we have been indoors finishing projects here.  The home is still fairly new to us, so I’ve been busy hanging curtains (of course), putting up chair rail, finding places for all of our pictures, and getting some serious organization accomplished.  But finally, the forecast is showing some sun instead of rain, so I can get outside and get to work on some of these outdoor projects!

On the agenda:

  • Clear off fence-line of miscellaneous plants and weeds
  • Find and plant blackberry bushes
  • Find and plant 2 fruit trees (same fruit, so they can pollinate)
  • Find and plant some mosquito repelling plants such as citronella, catnip, and beebalm
  • “Break ground” on our basic chicken coop plans

And yes, you read that last one right! While chickens were on our list for new homesteading things to try this year, we had planned to buy some chicks once Cage Free Dad returned home.  However, last week I was offered *free* chicks, that will be available in about 20 days.  I’m really excited about the opportunity, but it also means I’ll be responsible for building a chicken coop and brooder.  Disclaimer: I’ve never built anything in my life.  Plus, you already know I struggled to hang up curtains on my own!  So, if I can accomplish this entire list in the next 30 days, I’ll go ahead and change my name to Superwoman!

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.  In the meantime, wish me luck (and strength)!

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening, Self Sufficience, Uncategorized

One response to “Goings On in the Cage Free Home

  1. Oooh, good luck on the coop! I’ll be building mine almost on my own too!

Leave a Reply

