DIY Wind Chime for Kids

As a stay at home work at home mom, my days require a lot of creativity in order to keep Pistache busy while I keep busy.  I aim to do at least one cool thing a week that’s out of the ordinary, because she’s such a crafty kid.  Plus, I feel like since I run a business based on craftiness, it’s important to pass that on to my daughter. This week (honestly, a couple of weeks ago, but I had to work out the details), she requested that we recycle some of our grocery store cans into something fun and “rainbow colored.” I love this kid.  She’s awesome, if I haven’t mentioned that before.  Our result?

Tin Can Wind Chime

Ta Da! A tin-can wind chime!

Once I worked out the specifics on how to turn a collection of tin cans into a wind chime, it was really pretty simple.

Materials needed:

  • approximately 8 tin cans, cleaned of labels and glue
  • Paint in “rainbow colors”
  • Twine or string
  • 1 old embroidery hoop (or other circular item, preferably recycled)
  • hammer
  • nail
  • hot glue

Once the cans were cleaned, I just let Pistache go to town painting the cans.  It’s a kids’ craft, so I didn’t think it needed to come out pristine!  I wasn’t thinking, though, and let her use her usual paints, so a lot of it washed off in the rain.  I think a coating of clear spray paint will help in the future!

We let the cans dry for a few days, and then took a hammer to the tops, in order to create a hole.

DSC_1524

(Don’t worry, I was right there. No fingers got smashed during this project).

After all of the holes are punched, we carefully threaded the string-cut into differing lengths- through the hole and tied a good knot on the inside.

As an added precaution, I also put a dab of hot glue on the top to keep it extra secure.

DSC_1528

Finally, we attached each can to the embroidery hoop with another good knot and added two more strings across the top in an X pattern to hang the wind chime.  The final result really is pretty colorful and fun, and Pistache is incredibly proud of her newest project.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting with Kids

Leave a Reply

